The Focus Point

If you’re anything like me, you have your share of stress. For me, stress itself isn’t necessarily the problem. Stress can help motivate me to be more productive or work harder to get things accomplished. The bigger problem I struggle with stress is what to focus on. I find myself focusing on the problems rather than possible solutions. I end up dwelling on the wrong thing instead of working to resolve the stress in the first place. So I end up wasting more time than I would have if I had just focused on solutions to my stress. This point could be applied to many other areas as well. Too often we focus on the wrong thing. Marianne Williamson says We can always choose to perceive things differently. You can focus on what’s wrong in your life, or you can focus on what’s right.” Sometimes there isn’t a lot of difference between the right thing to focus on & the wrong thing to focus on. Sometimes both can be good to focus on…  I took the following pictures of a dandelion this afternoon. I couldn’t decide which part of the dandelion I wanted to take a picture of… the seeds or the tops of the seeds, so I just took pictures of both. Both are pretty in their own way-

You alway have the choice what you’re going to spend your time & energies on at any particular moment in time. So the question then becomes, what do you want to focus on? Problems or Solutions? Joy or Pain? The good in this world, or the Evil?

3 thoughts on “The Focus Point

Leave a Reply

