Travel Reflections

Sometimes I find it difficult to push busy thoughts out of my head. Especially if I’m trying to relax or enjoy a vacation.  I always seem to spend a good amount of time making lists of things that need to get done, or plan meticulous details in my mind. The truth is, if I actually just let my mind be at peace, I would probably be able to think more efficiently later. Andrew Peterson, one of my favorite musicians, has a song called “The Thing About Airplanes.” In the song he makes (what I think is) a brilliant observation: “Well, the thing about airplanes I noticed this time is you can’t look ahead and you can’t look behind but you can see where you are when you look out the side and you can try to recover some peace.” Every time I fly I think about this song. It is so true. Peace only comes when you just accept where you are & don’t try to change things. You can’t change the past, and you can’t predict the future. All you can do is live in the present. So why worry. Enjoy the present!

4 thoughts on “Travel Reflections

  1. I love the view out the window on a plane. For whatever reason, I’ve never had a camera on hand when flying. Probably because I was in high school and only thinking about getting home. Love these shots though. Very peaceful.

    • Thanks Alayne! I started taking my camera everywhere with me. There are all sorts of great things I missed out on before. I just figured I better be ready for any picture 😀

  2. No, don’t ask how I found your Blog!!!!
    Love the “Reflections” related to Andrew Peterson’s song “The Thing About Airplanes”
    Ev Steinke (Jeff’s mom!)

    • haha, well I’m glad you found it AND liked it 😀 Andrew Peterson is one of my favorite musicians, I could probably come up with a few other posts on here based on his stuff 😀 I hope you guys are doing good!

Leave a Reply

